Tuesday, 5 May 2015

The Lie by C.L.Taylor.

This was no accident…
Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.
I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .
Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.
Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.
Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . . .

I'm so pleased to be part of the blog tour for this book. It's one of the best reads I've had this year so thank you Avon Books for sending it to me. 

The story moves back and forward between five years ago and present day. It starts off gently introducing us to Emma and her three friends who are going on holiday together. We hear chapter by chapter how the holiday slowly disintegrates into the holiday from hell.
The friendship they once had counts for nothing and Emma doesn't know who she can trust.

Five years on Emma has changed her name to Jane to try and put the past behind her as thinking about the loss of two friends is too painful. She has a lovely boyfriend but when she receives mysterious notes telling her that someone knows the truth she begins to distrust those closest to her. 
I read this book in just over a day. I couldn't put it down. As the pace of the story picked up during the book so did the pace of my heartbeats.
When reading the parts about the holiday I felt as though I was there with the girls and it made me scared to turn the page I was so worried about what was coming next.
Towards the end the phone rang while I was reading and I nearly had a heart attack I was so engrossed in what I was reading.
In this book C.L. Taylor puts friendships under the microscope and challenges them to the limit. Some don't survive and harbour hate and jealousy. Some still put that trust in the other person. 
I feel she's asking us to look more closely at our own friendships. Are the real or are they toxic? 
I enjoyed the author's debut novel, The Accident but I thought this one was even better. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next.


The Lie, for kindle or paperback . Kindle edition is only 99 p 


 

No comments:

Post a Comment