Tuesday, 13 May 2014

Every Woman for Herself by Trisha Ashley








First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it’s every woman for herself …
Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times bestseller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews,the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer read.
When Charlie’s husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.
Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she’s single she’s got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love- painting.
But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one



I felt so sorry for Charlie in the first few pages of the book. First her horrible husband wants a divorce which seems to be all in his favour and then a terrible incident happens concerning a friend of her husband. It actually made me laugh (black humour) and I had to read about the incident again to see if I had got it right. This incident comes back to haunt her as the friend's wife wants revenge.

Charlie goes back home to her father's house in Yorkshire where her siblings have names like Emily, Branwell, Anne and her own name,Charlotte, yes they were named after the Bronte family and all as mad as a box of frogs.
Emily has decided to join the black arts and become a witch. Anna is a war correspondent and very stereotypical. Bramwell, well he may be very clever but I didn't understand his character at all.
I loved Charlie transforming herself after her husband left her. She changed the dark Goth like clothes that were hanging on her and cut her hair short. I can't understand why she never left him sooner.

When Charlie arrives at the family home her father is moving in his current girlfriend and her young  twin daughters. Emily who runs the house is doing everything possible to make the girlfriend, Gloria feel unwelcome. I think Emily should have moved out a long time ago and let her father get on with his life.
 I liked Gloria and thought she was treated terribly by the family.
Charlie seems to be the only normal one of the family and her love interest is  a famous actor, Mace but like all good stories true love doesn't always run smooth.
I enjoyed most of this book. Some of the characters like Anna took longer to like but by the end I grew to love her. There are some very funny moments throughout the book especially The Skint Old Northern Woman's Handbook which is a newspaper Charlie is writing in her head which she hopes may become a reality.
Fans of Trisha Ashley might recognise this book as it is a re- release. A pleasant read and enough happenings to keep you turning the page.
Amazon uk


Here's a little taster from the first chapter......

    ‘I’m not falling apart,’ I assured her, which I wasn’t, because nothing lately seemed at all real. I wasn’t sure if I’d been living in a dream world for years and just woken to reality, or vice versa. Sleeping Beauty in her jungle. ‘Actually, I feel more as if I’m imploding – hurtling inwards on myself. There’ll be a popping noise one day, and I’ll have vanished, like a bubble.’
‘You poor thing! There, I knew I was right to come back. But look on the bright side, darling – you and Matt are having a friendly divorce, so it will go through really fast. Then he’s going to pay you maintenance, although I don’t suppose you’ll need much because you will just go back to that insane-sounding family of yours. Did you see your sister, Anne, on the news last night? There were bullets flying around her head, and she just kept on talking.’
‘Emily – my older sister – has second sight, so she knows Anne’s invincible to bullets. And I don’t know why you say my family’s insane. Matt was keen enough to marry me once he found out who Father was, even if he can’t wait to get rid of me now.’
‘Anne, Emily – and your brother’s called Branwell, isn’t he? What were your parents trying to do, breed their own Brontës?’
‘Yes – well Father was, anyway. He thought if he recreated the hothouse environment and we didn’t become literary geniuses, or Branwell became the literary giant, it would prove his point. You know – like in his book: Branwell: Source of Genius?
From her puzzled expression, clearly she didn’t know.
‘And Charlie’s short for Charlotte, of course. When the experiment palled on Father he sent us all to the local school, and although Em didn’t mind being known as Effing Emily, I got very tired of being Scarlet Charlotte the Harlot. My family always called me Charlie, anyway.’
‘Weird!’ she muttered again. ‘I suppose you will go back there?’
‘I’ll have to, but I can’t just return as if the last twenty-odd years never existed.’
Though, mind you, when I do visit home it feels as if I’d never left. Everything’s the same: Em running the place and striding the moors composing her lucrative greeting-card verses, Gloria and Walter Mundi haphazardly doing the work, Father writing his infamous biographies and installing his latest mistress in the Summer Cottage, Bran and Anne turning up on visits.
And the moors. Nothing ever changed on Blackdog Moor except the seasons, that was what made me feel so safe there and so very unsafe here in York.





















2 comments:

  1. Oooo sounds like a good one to read - I'll stick it on my list :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. So many books so little time.

    ReplyDelete