Thursday, 5 July 2012

It's Publication Day!

Today is  publication day for one of my favourite authors Amelia Carr and her new book,
The Secret She Kept.
What's it about? (from Amazon)

"A dual-strand romantic epic, with lots of secrets, twists and turns, in the vein of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Katherine Webb.

Fearless Felicity Penrose thrives on adventure: she's one of the most experienced female sailors in the world. But one day, in the middle of the 1950s, her boat is found abandoned. Fliss has mysteriously vanished, tragically leaving behind her husband and baby girl.

Nearly thirty years later, Emma's world is rocked when she is approached by journalist Mike Bond with an extraordinary revelation: that Fliss was seen in America after she was presumed drowned. As Emma delves into her mother's past, she begins to unravel a tale of deep, abiding love and promises forgotten. And the rest of her family are thrown into turmoil. For Fliss is not the only one with secrets long-concealed..."

Amelia's books are always filled with family secrets, turmoils, dilemmas  and lots of twists and turns along the way and just when you think you know the ending you find out you're wrong.
I'm looking forward to reading this book with my wine and chocolate of course.

To wet your appetite for her new book here is what I thought of her last book,
 A Woman of Secrets.

What's it about (from Amazon)

"A poignant, touching and epic tale of lost love, set against the drama and danger of World War Two 1947. One wet and chilly November afternoon a woman stands at the edge of a lake forced into a heartbreaking choice between her past and her future. 2008. Police diver Martha makes an incredible discovery in a local lake of a package containing a series of lost mementoes which reveal a story of intrigue, betrayal and heartbreak. As the threads of the past and present are drawn together, Martha's world, and that of her family, is changed for ever."
Did I like it? 
I do enjoy stories set in World War Two  and although this starts off in 2008 it takes you back to wartime France and the brave men and women who fought alongside the French resistance. There were times as I was reading this book I was on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next.
 Amelia is a wonderful story teller especially the way she weaves all the different little stories throughout the book and finally makes them come together beautifully at the end.  I cried buckets reading this book. As in her previous books, I didn't guess the ending.
The Secret She Kept is the forth novel by the author under the name of Amelia Carr but she has also written many more books under the name of Janet Tanner, check them out on  here

No comments:

Post a Comment